Découvrez le NépalSite officiel du tourisme du Népal

Accueil Choses à faire Spiritualité et pèlerinage Yoga

Yoga

Le yoga aide à développer un corps sain, un esprit sain et une pensée saine. Il permet d’atteindre un état d’équilibre et d’harmonie dans tous les aspects de la personnalité. Le yoga est la clef  pour une vie juste, heureuse et saine.

L’octuple sentier du yoga (à ne pas confondre avec l’octuple sentier de Bouddha), défini dans le traité du yoga écrit par le sage Patanjali, étudie la moralité de l’existence et explore l’âme humaine. Il différencie : Yama (attitude juste), Niyama (pensée juste), Asana (conscience du corps), Pranayama (conscience de la respiration), Prathyahara (harmonisation ou retrait des sens), Dharana (concentration profonde), Dhyâna (méditation profonde), et Samadhi (contemplation profonde).

On approche souvent le yoga par les Asanas (positions), dans le but de développer la souplesse, la santé, et bien sur la conscience. Mais ce n’est là qu’un simple début. Alors que le chemin vers  la vie spirituelle est l’objectif essentiel du yoga, les pratiques yogiques ont des effets bénéfiques et tangibles immédiats, quelle que soit  la disposition d’esprit de chacun.

Le yoga et la méditation sont indissociables. Une partie de l’enseignement de Bouddha consiste à se concentrer sur la méditation afin de développer le Samadhi (contemplation profonde). A vous de choisir si vous préférez vous concentrez sur le yoga, sur la méditation, ou sur les deux.

Katmandou offre le plus large choix d’institutions de yoga, dont beaucoup se trouvent dans les environs de Thamel, le quartier touristique. Certains praticiens ayurvédiques donnent des leçons de yoga comme prémisses à un traitement (voir le chapitre sur l’Âyurveda). Regardez les panneaux d’affichages des hôtels et des restaurants où sont épinglés les prospectus donnant des informations sur les cursus et niveaux de yoga.

Destinations populaires pour Yoga

Activités similaires

#NepalNow

Népal à travers les yeux de nos visiteurs

Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Atithi Dewo Bhawa
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020

Discover NepalThe official tourism website for Nepal

Visit our trade site for news/updates and tender site for participation in Fairs/Tenders/Quotations.

Home Things To Do Spirituality and Pilgrimage Yoga

Yoga & Meditation

Yoga classes contribute to the development of a healthy body, a healthy mind, and healthy thought. It also helps one achieve a balanced, harmonious and integrated development of all aspects of their personalities. Yoga is a pathway to true, happy, and healthy living.

The Eight Fold Path of Yoga (not to be confused with Buddha's Eight Fold Path), from sage Patanjali’s yoga sutra delves deeply into the mortality of living and explores the human psyche. It consists of: Yama (self restraint), Niyama (self observance) Asana, Pranayama (breathing techniques), Pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (identification with pure consciousness).

To most people yoga means postures (Asanas) to develop flexibility, general body health and of course, awareness. However, this is merely the beginning. While yoga's central theme remains the highest goal of the spiritual path, yogic practices can give direct and tangible benefits to everyone regardless of their spiritual aspirations.

Yoga and meditation are inter-related. Part of Lord Buddha's contribution to humanity was to focus on meditation to develop Samadhi (while focusing on a platform of ethics and morality). You can choose whether to focus wholly on yoga, or more specifically on meditation, or get your fill of both of these.

There are many classes from which to choose. Kathmandu has many practitioners/Ayurvedic healers who hold yoga as a primary source for the treatment of illness. Kathmandu is where most of the yoga institutions are concentrated and they have generated considerable interest. There are yoga centers everywhere and particularly around Thamel, the tourist district. Keep an eye out for notices on the bulletin boards of hotels and restaurants where you will find flyers and brochures detailing classes and courses on yoga. 

 

 

Popular Destinations

Similar Activities

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors