Découvrez le NépalSite officiel du tourisme du Népal

Accueil Planifiez votre voyage À propos du Népal Histoire

Histoire

Les archives mentionnent les Gopalas et les Mahishapalas comme les premiers souverains de la vallée de Katmandou avec pour capitale Matatirtha, dans le sud-ouest de la vallée. Au 7è ou au 8è siècle av. J.-C., les Kirantis auraient repris les rênes du pouvoir - d’ailleurs, leur roi le plus célèbre, Yalumber, est mentionné dans l’épopée du «Mahabharata». Aux alentours de 300 ap. J.-C., les Lichhavisarrivent du nord de l'Inde et renversent les Kirantis. L'un des plus importants héritages de l’ère Lichhavi est le temple de Changu Narayan près de Bhaktapur, érigé au 5è siècle et aujourd’hui inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO (culture). Au début du 7ème siècle, le premier roi Thakuri, Amshuvarma, succède à son beau-père Lichhavi. Il marie sa fille Bhrikuti au célèbre roi tibétain Tsong Tsen Gampo, établissant ainsi de bonnes relations avec le Tibet. Si les Lichhavis ont introduit l'art et l'architecture dans la vallée, l'âge d'or de la créativité se développe à partir de 1200 ap.J.-C., avec les Mallas.

 

Au cours de leurs 550 années de règne, les Mallas bâtissent de nombreux temples et de magnifiques palais autour de places pittoresques. Ils organisent également la société et les villes; c’est l’apparition des festivals religieux, et la littérature, la musique et les arts sont favorisés.À la mort de Yaksha Malla, la vallée est partagée en trois royaumes : Katmandou (Kantipur), Bhaktapur (Bhadgaon), et Patan (Lalitpur). À cette époque, le Népal tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui, est morcelé en 46 principautés indépendantes. Un roi Shah règne sur l’une d’entre elle, le royaume de Gorkha.Ce que nous savons de l’histoire de la vallée de cette époque provient en grande partie des Frères Capucins, qui,sur leur route vers le Tibet, faisaientde longues étapes à Katmandou.

Au 18è siècle, Prithvi Narayan Shah, ambitieux roi de Gorkha, part à la conquête du pays et défait tous les royaumes de la vallée (dont Kirtipur qui était resté indépendant) à l’orée de 1769.Décidantd’établir sa capitale à Katmandou plutôt que d’annexer ces états fraichement conquis à son royaume, il fonde la dynastie Shah qui règnera sur un Népal unifié de 1769 à 2008.

L’histoire de Gorkha remonte à 1559, quand Dravya Shah crée un royaume dans une région majoritairement peuplée de Magars. Au cours du 17è siècle et au début du 18è siècle, Gorkha s’agrandit petit à petit en conquérant certains territoires et en formant des alliances avec d’autres. Prithvi Narayan Shah se consacre très jeune à la conquête de la vallée de Katmandou.Conscient de la menace que représente l’Empire britannique en Inde, il renvoi les missions européennes du pays et tient le Népal isolé pendant plus d’un siècle.

Vers le milieu du 19è siècle, le Premier Ministre Jung Bahadur Rana parvient à s’octroyer les pouvoirs absolus, reléguant ainsi la fonction royale à un simple rôle de représentation. Il instaure un règne de premiers ministres par hérédité qui durera 104ans. Les Ranas sont renversés au début des années 50 par un mouvement démocratique soutenu par le roi de l’époque, Tribhuvan. Peu après la chute des Ranas, le roi Tribhuvan est réintroduit à la tête de l’État. En 1959, le roi Mahendra, fils de Tribhuvan, introduit une nouvelle constitution, et les premières élections démocratiques pour une assemblée nationale ont lieu. Le parti du Congrès népalais en sort vainqueur, et son leader, Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala, forme un gouvernement dont ildevient Premier Ministre. Mais en 1960, le roi Mahendra change d’avis et dissout le parlement, renvoyant le premier gouvernement démocratique.

Après des années de lutte au cours desquelles les partis politiques étaient interdits, ces derniers trouvèrent finalement assez de courage pour lancer un mouvement populaire, en 1990. Ouvrant la voie à la démocratie, le roi Birendra accepte les réformes constitutionnelles et établit un Parlement multipartite avec le Roi à la tête de l’État et un Premier ministre à la tête de l’exécutif. En mai 1991 ont lieu les premières élections parlementaires. En février 1996, le parti maoïste déclare la guerre populaire contre la monarchie et le gouvernement élu.

Le 1er juin 2001 un drame décime la famille royale dont le roi Birendra et la reine Aishwarya,ainsi que la majorité de leurs proches. Gyanendra, le frère de Birendra, et sa famille étant les seuls survivants, est alors couronné. Le roi Gyanendra se soumet au gouvernement élu pendant un temps avant de limoger le parlement et de s’octroyer les pleins pouvoirs. En avril 2006, un autre mouvement populaire instigué collectivement par les partis démocratiques voit le jour. L’attention des manifestants étantconcentrée sur Katmandou, la capitale connaît un couvre-feu de 19jours.Finalement, le roi Gyanendra abandonne ses pouvoirs et réinstaure le parlement. Le 21 novembre 2006, le Premier Ministre, Girija Prasad Koirala, et le Président du parti maoïste, Prachanda, signent l’Accord de Paix global (Comprehensive Peace Agreement)de 2006, un engagement en faveur de la démocratie et de la paix, pour le bon développement du pays et de sa population. Le 10 avril 2008 se tiennent des élections pour former une Assemblée constituante. Le 28mai2008, la nouvelle Assemblée constituante déclare la République démocratique fédérale du Népal, abolissant 240ans de monarchie.

#NepalNow

Népal à travers les yeux de nos visiteurs

Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Atithi Dewo Bhawa
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020

Discover NepalThe official tourism website for Nepal

Visit our corporate site for trade news and updates.
For participation in Fairs/Sales Mission and Tender/Quotation, click here

Home Plan Your Trip About Nepal History

History

Nepal's history dates back to the time of the Gopalas and Mahishapalas who are believed to have been the earliest rulers of the valley with their capital at Matatirtha, the south-west corner of the Kathmandu Valley. They were ousted by the Kirantis around the 7th or 8th Century B.C. The Kirantis are said to have ruled the valley for many centuries. Their famous King Yalumber is even mentioned in the epic, ‘Mahabharat’. Around 300 A.D. the Lichhavis arrived from northern India and overthrew the Kirantis. One of the legacies of the Lichhavis is the Changu Narayan Temple near Bhaktapur, a UNESCO World Heritage Site (Culture), which dates back to the 5th Century. In the early 7th Century, their king Amshuvarma, married off his daughter Bhrikuti to the famous Tibetan King Tsong Tsen Gampo thus establishing good relations with Tibet. The Lichhavis brought art and architecture to the valley but the golden age of creativity arrived in 1200 A.D after the Mallas conquered them.

During their 550 year rule, the Mallas built remarkable temples and  beautifully designed  palaces with picturesque squares. It was also during their rule that the valley society and the cities became well organized; spectacular  religious festivals were introduced and literature, music, art and  drama were encouraged. After the death of Yaksha Malla, the valley was divided into three kingdoms: Kathmandu (Kantipur), Bhaktapur (Bhadgaon) and Patan (Lalitpur). At the time, the Nepal as we know it today was divided into 46 independent principalities. One among these was the kingdom of Gorkha ruled by a Shah king. Much of Kathmandu Valley’s history around this time was recorded by Capuchin friars  from Italy who lived in the valley on their way in and out of Tibet.

An ambitious Gorkha King named Prithvi Narayan Shah embarked on a conquering mission that led to the defeat of all the kingdoms in the valley (including Kirtipur which was an independent state) by 1769. Instead of annexing the newly acquired states to his kingdom of Gorkha, Prithvi Narayan decided to move his capital to Kathmandu establishing the Shah dynasty which ruled unified Nepal from 1769 to 2008.

6.5

The Gorkha state dates back to 1559 when Dravya Shah established his kingdom in a land predominated by Magar people. During the 17th and early 18th centuries, the Gorkha kingdom was slowly expanding, conquering some neighbouring states while forging alliances with others. Eventually it was Prithvi Narayan Shah who led his troops to the Kathmandu Valley. After a long struggle he defeated all the valley kings and established his palace in Kathmandu leaving Gorkha for good. Recognizing the threat of the British Raj in India, he dismissed European missionaries from the country and for more than a century, Nepal remained closed to the outside world.

During the mid-19th Century Jung Bahadur Rana rose to power as Nepal’s first Prime Minister, becoming more powerful than the Shah King he was supposed to serve under. The king became a mere figurehead. Jung Bahadur started a hereditary reign of the Rana Prime Ministers that lasted for 104 years. In 1950 the Ranas were overthrown in an uprising to bring democracy in the country with strong support from the-then monarch of Nepal, King Tribhuvan. Soon after the overthrow of the Ranas, King Tribhuvan was reinstated as the Head of the State. In early 1959, Tribhuvan’s son King Mahendra issued a new constitution, and the first democratic elections for a national assembly were held. The Nepali Congress Party was victorious and their leader, Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala formed a government and served as Prime Minister. But this government didn’t last long as King Mahendra decided to dissolve Parliament in 1960, and introduced a one party Panchayat rule.

The Panchayat system lasted until 1990, when a popular people’s movement led by the political parties that had been banned by the government which until then had been known as ‘His Majesty’s Government’, gave way to democracy. The long struggle paid off when King Birendra accepted constitutional reforms and established a multiparty parliament with himself as the Head of State and an executive Prime Minister under him. In May 1991, Nepal held its first parliamentary elections.

In February 1996, the Maoist parties declared a People’s War against monarchy and the elected government. Then on 1st June 2001, a horrific tragedy wiped out the entire royal family including King Birendra and Queen Aishwarya along with most of their closest relatives. With only King Birendra’s brother, Gyanendra and his family surviving, he was crowned king. King Gyanendra abided by the elected government’s rule for some time, but then dismissed the elected Parliament to wield absolute power. In April 2006, another People’s Movement was launched jointly by the democratic parties focusing on Kathmandu, which led to a 19-day curfew imposed by the king. With the movement not cowering down and ignoring the curfew, King Gyanendra eventually relinquished his power and reinstated the Parliament. On 21st November 2006, Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala and Maoist Chairman Prachanda signed the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) 2006, committing to democracy and peace for the progress of the country and people. The king was removed and the decade long Maoist war on the state was over. A Constituent Assembly election was held on 10th April 2008. And on 28th May 2008, the newly elected Constituent Assembly declared Nepal a Federal Democratic Republic, abolishing the 240 year-old monarchy. Nepal today has a President as Head of State and a constitutionally elected Prime Minister heading the Government.

 

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors