Découvrez le NépalSite officiel du tourisme du Népal

Accueil Lieux à voir Sehenswürdigkeiten Palais de Nuwakot

Palais de Nuwakot

Un jour ou deux au départ de Katmandou suffisent àrejoindre Nuwakotpour yvisiter le palais (durbar)enchanteur,forteresse dressée au milieu des collines du centre du Népal. On peut également passer la nuit à Trisuli Bazaar etfaire une randonnée d'une journée jusqu'au palais.

Perchée à une altitude de 900 m, au cœur de lapittoresque ville de Nuwakot,l'ancienne citadelle se tient fière, comme si le temps n’avait pas prise sur elle. Bien que l'intérieur du palais ait été endommagé par letremblement de terre du 25 avril 2015, les bâtiments restés intacts accueillent les visiteurs. Des travaux de reconstruction sont en cours pour préserver ce site patrimonial qui a joué un rôle crucial dans l’histoire du Népal moderne.

Le durbarreste un trésor méconnu, en dépit son importance historique et culturelle. Haute de sept étages, la forteresse fut bâtie au 18ème siècle, sous le règne de Prithvi Narayan Shah. On y décèle très peu de traces des attaques perpétrées par les Malla et, plus tard, les forces chinoises.

Nuwakot constitue un ‘plus’ bien agréable au passage parTrisuli Bazaar, accessibleen une heure de grimpette depuis la route principale. On arrive à Trisuli Bazaar en 3-4 heures par un service de bus régulier depuis Katmandou. La nourriture et l'hébergement y sont limités, maisla ferme transformée en hôtel luxueux, à quelques kilomètres de là, ravira ceux qui désirent passer un moment dans un lieu tout-à-fait typique.

#NepalNow

Népal à travers les yeux de nos visiteurs

Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020
Nepal Airlines
#photoNepal
Far West Nepal

Discover NepalThe official tourism website for Nepal

Visit our trade site for news/updates and tender site for participation in Fairs/Tenders/Quotations.

Home Places To See Attractions Nuwakot Durbar

Nuwakot Durbar

Nuwakot Durbar

You’ll need a day or two to drive to Nuwakot from Kathmandu for a visit of the delightful Nuwakot Durbar (palace) perched in the mid hills of central Nepal. You could also spend a night in the Trishuli Bazaar and opt for a day hike up to the palace.

At an elevation of 900 m, the ancient citadel stands proud as if untouched by changing times, amid the quaint Nuwakot Bazaar. While the interior of the durbar suffered some damage during the recent earthquake on 25th April 2015, the buildings are still intact and a tour of the premises is still possible. Reconstruction efforts are underway to conserve the heritage site that played a pivotal role in shaping the history of modern Nepal. 

The durbar is still an undiscovered treasure, despite its historical and cultural significance. The seven-story pal­ace fortress was built during the reign of Prithvi Narayan Shah in the 18th century. It shows little evidence of the attacks by Malla and later Chinese forces. 

Nuwakot is an interesting side trip from Trisuli Ba­zaar, reachable in an hour's climb from the main road.   Trisuli Bazaar can be reached in 3-4 hours on a regular bus service from Kathmandu.  Modest food and accommodation can be found in the Bazaar. Those seeking better services can head for the luxury farm house nearby.

 

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors