Nepal entdeckenOffizielle Tourismus-Website von Nepal

Startseite Veranstaltungen und Festivals Maha Shivaratri

Maha Shivaratri
21. Februar 2020

Maha Shivaratri ist eines der wichtigsten Festivals Nepals und bedeutet wörtlich "Nacht des Shiva". Es wirdgemäß dem hinduistischen Mondkalender am 14. Tag des Magh-Monats gefeiert.

Es wird angenommen, dass sich die Sterne auf der Nordhalbkugel an diesem Tag in den besten Positionen befinden, um die spirituelle Energie eines Menschen zu erhöhen und dass das Shiva principle an diesem Tag des Jahres am aktivsten ist.

Maha Shivaratri wird gefeiert und markiert die Konvergenz von Shiva und Shakti. Maha Shivaratri feiert auch die Nacht, in der Lord Shiva den "Tandav", den kosmischen Tanz, aufführte.

A yogi with holy text on his face during the Maha Shivaratri at Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Hunderttausende von Anhängern besuchen den Pashupatinath Tempel in Kathmandu, einem der heiligsten Schreine der Hindus. Pashupatinath gilt als der Wächter und Beschützer des Kathmandutals und ganz Nepals.

Die Anhänger singen die ganze Nacht "Om Namah Shivay" und "Mahamritunjaya" und beten für den Sieg des Lichtes über die Dunkelheit. Touristen werden dabei beobachtet, wie sie das Ambiente mit Neugierde genießen, während bunte und nackte Sadhus meditierend für Fotos posieren.

In den Innenhöfen der Tempel befinden sich spezielle Gästelager. Kinder sammelnan diesem Tag Spenden von Passanten ein und bereiten sich auf das heilige Essen und das Lagerfeuer zur Feier der besonderen Nacht vor.

Curious tourists surrounding Babas during the Maha Shivaratri festival at Pashupatinath Temple, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Vorbereitungen für Maha Shivaratri im Pashupatinath Tempel

Maha Shivaratri ist eines der berühmtesten religiösen Feste für Hindus. Jedes Jahr werden Hindus aus der ganzen Welt gesehen, die während dieses Festes viele Shiva-Tempel bevölkern. Der Pashupatinath Tempel ist der Ort mit der größten Menschenmenge an diesem Tag.

In diesem Jahr erwartet der Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT) anlässlich von Maha Shivaratri eine Menschenmenge von 1,3 Millionen Menschen aus aller Welt. Auch in diesem Jahr wurde mehr Wert darauf gelegt, einen einfacheren Weg zur Verwaltung der Menschenmassen zu finden, damit die Anhänger ihre Puja und Darshan schneller und bequemer durchführen können.

Der Frühling ist eine der besten Zeiten, um Nepal zu besuchen, und indische Touristen genießen den Besuch während der günstigen Gelegenheit zu Maha Shivaratri. Besondere Vorkehrungen werden getroffen, um den Darshan für indische Pilger in Pashupatinath während Maha Shivaratri zu erleichtern. Das PADT wird auch Pashupati Darshan Pässe an Verkaufsstellen in der Nähe von Pashupati zur Verfügung stellen, um Pilger aus Indien zu unterstützen.

Neben Puja und Darshan werden weitere Attraktionen für die Besucher der Tempelanlage zu diesem Zeitpunkt die bunte Menge sein, zu der auch die Sadhu Babas aus verschiedenen Teilen Nepals und Indiens gehören. Die Menschen kommen nach Pashupatinath, um die verschiedenen Sadhu Babas und ihre Aktivitäten zu beobachten. Einige Sadhus sind mit Asche bedeckt, während andere es vorziehen, völlig nackt zu sein.

Da Maha Shivaratri hauptsächlich mit der Nacht verbunden ist, bleiben die Anhänger die ganze Nacht auf und beten zu Lord Shiva. Die vier Prahars von Puja werden die ganze Nacht über durchgeführt. Während des Festivals wohnen viele Anhänger in Zelten entlang der Gaushala-Straße.

#NepalNow

Nepal durch die Augen unserer Besucher

Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Atithi Dewo Bhawa
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020

HomeWhat's onMaha Shivaratri

Maha Shivaratri
24ᵗʰ February

Maha Shivaratri meaning the night of Lord Shiva is one of the major festivals of Nepal and literally means “Night of Shiva”. It is celebrated on the 14th day of the dark fortnight of the Māgha month, as per the Hindu lunar calendar.

It is believed that on this day, the stars in the Northern Hemisphere are at most optimum positions to help raise a person’s spiritual energy.It is  also believed that the Shiva principle is most active on this day of the year.

A yogi with holy text on his face during the Maha Shivaratri at Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Maha Shivaratri is celebrated marking the convergence of Shiva and Shakti. Maha Shivaratri also celebrates the night when Lord Shiva performed the "Tandav", the cosmic dance.

Hundreds of thousands of devotees visit Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, one of the holiest shrines of the Hindus.  Pashupatinath is considered the Guardian and Protector of the Kathmandu Valley and Nepal. 

Curious tourists surrounding Babas during the Maha Shivaratri festival at Pashupatinath Temple, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Devotees chant “Om Namah Shivay” and “Mahamritunjaya” all night praying for light over darkness. Tourists are seen enjoying the ambiance with curiosity, as colorful and naked sadhus are seen meditating, posing for photographs and interacting with disciples. 

Special attendance camps are set in the courtyards of the temples. Children are seen collecting donations from passersby on this day preparing for holy meal and bonfire in celebration of the special night.

Arrangements for Maha Shivaratri at Pashupatinath Temple

Maha Shivaratri is known as one of the most celebrated religious festivals for Hindus. Every year Hindus from all over the world are seen thronging many Shiva temples during this festival. Pashupatinath Temple is the place with the biggest crowd on this day.

This year, on the occasion of Maha Shivaratri, the Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT) is expecting a crowd of 1.3 million people from across the world. For the successful celebration of the festival, the management unit in Pashupatinath have started cleaning the area. Also, this year more importance has been given for figuring out an easier way to manage crowd so that devotees can carry out their Puja and Darshan faster and more conveniently.

Spring is one of the best times to visit Nepal, and Indian tourists enjoy visiting during the most auspicious occasion of Maha Shivaratri. Special provisions are made to ease Darshan for Indian pilgrims at Pashupatinath during Maha Shivaratri, which falls on Feb 24 this year, according to officials at the Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT). The PADT will also make available Pashupati Darshan passes at easy outlets near Pashupati area to facilitate pilgrims from India. 

Apart from Puja and Darshan other attractions for visitors to the temple vicinity at the time will be the colorful crowd including gorgeous Sadhu Babas from different parts of Nepal and India. People come to Pashupatinath to observe and see the different kinds of Sadhu Babas and their activities; some Sadhus are covered is ashes while some prefer to be completely naked.

Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT) Chairman Mr. Govinda Tandan says, “As a huge crowd is expected this year. We are working to manage a fine parking facility and a good place for devotees to sit. Also, as many devotees show eagerness to distribute food to the people present there, we are trying to manage a proper place for the devotees to enjoy their meal.”

As Maha Shivaratri is mainly related with the night, the devotees stay up all night and pray to Lord Shiva. The four Prahars of Puja is carried out all night long, the devotees usually stay in tents along the Gaushala road.

Celebrate Shivaratri in Nepal

Try Also

Similar events

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors