Découvrez le NépalSite officiel du tourisme du Népal

Accueil Événements et festivals Maha Shivaratri

Maha Shivaratri
21 février 2020

Maha Shivaratri, littéralement « la grande nuit de Shiva », est l’un des festivals les plus importants du Népal. Il se tient tous les quatorzièmes jours de la demi lune du mois de Magh (mi-janvier / mi-février), selon le calendrier lunaire.

Il est dit qu’en ce jour le principe de Shiva atteint son paroxysme, et que la position des étoiles dans l’hémisphère nord tend à accroitre l’énergie spirituelle.

Maha Shivaratri marque également l’union de Shiva et de Shakti, et la nuit au cours de laquelle Shiva a réalisé la danse cosmique appelée « Tandav ».

A yogi with holy text on his face during the Maha Shivaratri at Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Des centaines de milliers de fidèles se rendent au temple de Pashupatinath à Katmandou, l'un des sanctuaires les plus sacrés de l’hindouisme. Pashupati (l'incarnation de Shiva en tant que « maître des animaux ») est considéré comme le gardien et le protecteur de la vallée de Katmandou, et du Népal.

Les fidèles chantent « Om Namah Shivay » et « Mahamrityunjaya » tout au long de la nuit, en priant pour appeler la victoire de la lumière sur les ténèbres. Les touristes apprécient l’ambiance dont le sanctuaire est imprégné pendant ce festival. Des Sadhus nus et colorés méditent, échangent avec les disciples, et prennent volontiers la pose le temps d’une photo.

Curious tourists surrounding Babas during the Maha Shivaratri festival at Pashupatinath Temple, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Des tentes de premier secours sont montées dans les cours des temples. En ce jour de préparatifs pour les célébrations du soir, un repas sacré et un feu de joie, les enfants tendent des cordes qu’ils abaissent quand les passants leur donne une pièce.

Organisation pour Maha Shivaratri au temple Pashupatinath :

Maha Shivaratri est l'un des festivals religieux les plus importants de l’hindouisme. En ce jour, les dévots affluent dans les temples dédiés à Shiva. Le temple de Pashupatinath accueille le plus grand nombre de fidèles.

Cette année, le PADT (Pashupati Area Development Trust) attend 1,3 million de personnes, venues du monde entier. Pour que le festival soit une fête, le management de Pashupatinath a commencé à nettoyer la zone. En outre, l'accent est mis cette année sur la recherche de solutions simples pour contrôler la foule afin que les fidèles puissent faire leur Pujas  (offrandes) et leur Darshan (« vision du divin ») plus rapidement et plus facilement.

Les touristes Indiens viennent volontiers au Népal à l’occasion des célébrations de Maha Shivaratri. Les responsables du Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT) ont annoncé que des dispositions spéciales étaient prévues pour faciliter le Darshan des pèlerins Indiens pendant le festival, le 13 février de cette année. Le PADT mettra également à leur disposition des passes Pashupati Darshan dans des points de vente faciles d’accès autour du sanctuaire.

Outre les Pujas  et les Darshans, les visiteurs verront en ce jour à Pashupatinath une foule colorée et de pittoresques Sadhus Babas venus des différentes régions du Népal et de l’Inde. Les Sadhus Babas et leurs activités constituent l’une des principales attractions du festival. Certains d’entre eux sont recouverts de cendres alors que d'autres préfèrent rester complètement nus.

Govinda Tandan, président du Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT), déclare « une foule nombreuse est attendue et nous travaillons à aménager une aire de parking adéquate et un espace agréable où les dévots pourront se détendre. De plus, alors que de nombreux fidèles manifestent leur empressement à distribuer de la nourriture aux personnes présentes, nous nous efforçons d’aménager un lieu approprié où ils pourront prendre leur repas ».

Maha Shivaratri se déroulant essentiellement la nuit, les fidèles restent éveillés pour prier Shiva. Les quatre Prahars (terme sanskrit qui défini une unité de temps, ou une sous-division de la journée, d’environ trois heures) de Pujas ayant lieu toute la nuit, des tentes le long de la route de Gaushala sont mises à la disposition des fidèles.

#NepalNow

Népal à travers les yeux de nos visiteurs

Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Atithi Dewo Bhawa
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020

HomeWhat's onMaha Shivaratri

Maha Shivaratri
24ᵗʰ February

Maha Shivaratri meaning the night of Lord Shiva is one of the major festivals of Nepal and literally means “Night of Shiva”. It is celebrated on the 14th day of the dark fortnight of the Māgha month, as per the Hindu lunar calendar.

It is believed that on this day, the stars in the Northern Hemisphere are at most optimum positions to help raise a person’s spiritual energy.It is  also believed that the Shiva principle is most active on this day of the year.

A yogi with holy text on his face during the Maha Shivaratri at Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Maha Shivaratri is celebrated marking the convergence of Shiva and Shakti. Maha Shivaratri also celebrates the night when Lord Shiva performed the "Tandav", the cosmic dance.

Hundreds of thousands of devotees visit Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu, one of the holiest shrines of the Hindus.  Pashupatinath is considered the Guardian and Protector of the Kathmandu Valley and Nepal. 

Curious tourists surrounding Babas during the Maha Shivaratri festival at Pashupatinath Temple, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Devotees chant “Om Namah Shivay” and “Mahamritunjaya” all night praying for light over darkness. Tourists are seen enjoying the ambiance with curiosity, as colorful and naked sadhus are seen meditating, posing for photographs and interacting with disciples. 

Special attendance camps are set in the courtyards of the temples. Children are seen collecting donations from passersby on this day preparing for holy meal and bonfire in celebration of the special night.

Arrangements for Maha Shivaratri at Pashupatinath Temple

Maha Shivaratri is known as one of the most celebrated religious festivals for Hindus. Every year Hindus from all over the world are seen thronging many Shiva temples during this festival. Pashupatinath Temple is the place with the biggest crowd on this day.

This year, on the occasion of Maha Shivaratri, the Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT) is expecting a crowd of 1.3 million people from across the world. For the successful celebration of the festival, the management unit in Pashupatinath have started cleaning the area. Also, this year more importance has been given for figuring out an easier way to manage crowd so that devotees can carry out their Puja and Darshan faster and more conveniently.

Spring is one of the best times to visit Nepal, and Indian tourists enjoy visiting during the most auspicious occasion of Maha Shivaratri. Special provisions are made to ease Darshan for Indian pilgrims at Pashupatinath during Maha Shivaratri, which falls on Feb 24 this year, according to officials at the Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT). The PADT will also make available Pashupati Darshan passes at easy outlets near Pashupati area to facilitate pilgrims from India. 

Apart from Puja and Darshan other attractions for visitors to the temple vicinity at the time will be the colorful crowd including gorgeous Sadhu Babas from different parts of Nepal and India. People come to Pashupatinath to observe and see the different kinds of Sadhu Babas and their activities; some Sadhus are covered is ashes while some prefer to be completely naked.

Pashupati Area Development Trust (PADT) Chairman Mr. Govinda Tandan says, “As a huge crowd is expected this year. We are working to manage a fine parking facility and a good place for devotees to sit. Also, as many devotees show eagerness to distribute food to the people present there, we are trying to manage a proper place for the devotees to enjoy their meal.”

As Maha Shivaratri is mainly related with the night, the devotees stay up all night and pray to Lord Shiva. The four Prahars of Puja is carried out all night long, the devotees usually stay in tents along the Gaushala road.

Celebrate Shivaratri in Nepal

Try Also

Similar events

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors