Nepal entdeckenOffizielle Tourismus-Website von Nepal

Startseite Veranstaltungen und Festivals Indra Jatra

Indra Jatra
1. September 2020

Das achttägige Indra Jatra Festival wird im September gefeiert und ist eines der interessantesten und wichtigsten Festivals der Newari Gesellschaft im Kathmandu Tal. Es ist auch das erste Fest der Festival-Saison im Herbst. Es beginnt mit der Aufstellung eines hölzernen Kiefernstammes am Basantapur Platz vor dem alten Hanuman Dhoka Palast.

Hunderte von Schaulustigen versammeln sich am Platz der Paläste und Tempel, um dieser Zeremonie zuzuschauen. Die Sänfte der Kumari, der Lebenden Kindgöttin, wird in einer Prozession durch die Hauptstraßen Kathmandus getragen.

Living Goddess Kumari being carried on a palanquin during the Indra Jatra festival in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Maskierte Tänzer, Lakhen genannt, laufen fast jeden Abend von lauten Trommlern begleitet durch die Straßen. Das Festival erinnert an die Zeit, als Indra in menschlicher Gestalt vom Himmel herunterstieg, um nach Kräutern zu suchen.

Jede Nacht des Festivals werden die Schreine und alten Palastgebäude am Kathmandu Durbar Square durch Öllämpchen erleuchtet. Jeden Abend werden auf der Plattform vor dem Tempel der Lebenden Kindgöttin die acht irdenen Inkarnationen des Lord Vishnu nachgestellt.

Living Goddess Kumari takes a peek out of the window of one of the historical sites in Kathmandu Durbar Square, Nepal.

Am Nachmittag vor dem Vollmond versammeln sich ekstatische Gläubige in der Nähe des Hanuman Dhoka Palastes, um in einer Prozession einen Blick auf das verehrte kleine Newari Mädchen zu erhaschen, das als Lebende oder Jungfräuliche  Kindgöttin (Kumari) verehrt wird.

Das Staatsoberhaupt erhält eine Tika von der Kumari. Der Sänfte der Kumari folgen zwei kleinere Wagen mit Abbildern des Ganesh und Bhairav, und zusammen bewegen sie durch verschiedene Teile der alten Stadt. Das Festival des Indra Jatra endet mit dem Abbau des (Lingam) Stammes, der die Indra Fahne trägt, und weiteren religiösen Zeremonien.

#NepalNow

Nepal durch die Augen unserer Besucher

Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Instagram icon
Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Read the latest stories from Nepal | www.NepalNow.org
Great Himalaya Trails
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Millennium Trek
Nepal Airlines
photoNepal
Far West Nepal

HomeWhat's onIndra Jatra

Indra Jatra
6ᵗʰ October

The eight-day long Indra Jatra festival falls in September and is one of the most exciting and revered festivals of the Newari community of the Kathmandu Valley.  

This also marks the beginning of a month-long festival season of autumn. It begins with the erection of a wooden pole made of pine at Basantapur Sqaure in front of the old Hanuman Dhoka Palace. 

For the pole-raising ceremony, hundreds of spectators gather at the Palace Square and on the surrounding temples. The chariot of Kumari, the Living Goddess, is taken out in a procession through the main streets of Kathmandu. 

Masked dancers known as Lakhay take to the streets almost every evening accompanied by loud drums. The festival commemorates the time when Indra came down from heaven in human form to look for an herb. 

Each night of Indra Jatra the shrines and ancient palace buildings around Kathmandu Durbar Square are aglow with oil wicks. Each night on the platform in front of the temple of the Living Goddess, there is an enactment depicting the ten earthly incarnations of Lord Vishnu. 

In the afternoon of the day before full moon, ecstatic mobs gather near Hanuman Dhoka Palace for the long-awaited Living Goddess’ chariot procession to catch a glimpse of the revered little Newari girl who has been deified as Kumari. 

The chariot of the Kumari followed by two other smaller chariots carrying a representative of Ganesh and Bhairav is taken to different parts of the old Kathmandu. The festival of Indra Jatra ends with the lowering of the (lingam) pole bearing Indra's flag amidst religious ceremonies.

Venue: Hanuman Dhoka & Lanes of old Kathmandu

When: September

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors