Découvrez le NépalSite officiel du tourisme du Népal

Accueil Événements et festivals Indra Jatra

Indra Jatra
13 septembre 2019

Le festival de Indra Jatra, l’un des plus fascinant et des plus respectés des Newars de la vallée de Katmandou, se déroule pendant huit jours tous les mois de septembre. Ce festival marque le début de la saison des festivals d'automne, qui dure un mois. Tout commence par l’érection d’un mât en pin à Basantapur, en face de l'ancien palais de Hanuman Dhoka.

Des centaines de spectateurs se rassemblent sur la place du palais et sur les temples avoisinants pour assister à la cérémonie du mât. Le char de la Kumari, la déesse vivante, est tiré en procession dans les rues principales de Katmandou.

Living Goddess Kumari being carried on a palanquin during the Indra Jatra festival in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Des danseurs masqués, appelés Lakhay, défilent presque tous les soirs dans les rues au son retentissant des tambours. Le festival commémore la descente sur terre du dieu Indra sous sa forme humaine, pour y ramasser ses légumes et ses plantes préférés.

Pendant toute la durée du festival, les temples et l’ancien palais du Durbar Square de Katmandou se parent tous les soirs d’une multitude de lampes à huile. En même temps, des représentations illustrant les dix incarnations terrestres de Vishnu sont jouées sur la tribune face au temple de la Kumari.

Living Goddess Kumari takes a peek out of the window of one of the historical sites in Kathmandu Durbar Square, Nepal.

Dans l’après-midi qui précède la pleine lune, une foule enthousiaste se rassemble près du palais de Hanuman Dhoka. Elle vient assister à la longue procession du char de la déesse vivante, avec l’espoir d’apercevoir la vénérable petite fille Newar, déifiée sous le nom de Kumari.

Le char de la Kumari est suivi de deux autres chars, plus petits ; l’un transportant Ganesh et l’autre transportant Bhairav. La procession traverse le vieux Katmandou. Indra Jatra se termine au milieu de cérémonies religieuses, sur l’abaissement du mât portant le drapeau d’Indra.

#NepalNow

Népal à travers les yeux de nos visiteurs

Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Atithi Dewo Bhawa
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020

HomeWhat's onIndra Jatra

Indra Jatra
6ᵗʰ October

The eight-day long Indra Jatra festival falls in September and is one of the most exciting and revered festivals of the Newari community of the Kathmandu Valley.  

This also marks the beginning of a month-long festival season of autumn. It begins with the erection of a wooden pole made of pine at Basantapur Sqaure in front of the old Hanuman Dhoka Palace. 

For the pole-raising ceremony, hundreds of spectators gather at the Palace Square and on the surrounding temples. The chariot of Kumari, the Living Goddess, is taken out in a procession through the main streets of Kathmandu. 

Masked dancers known as Lakhay take to the streets almost every evening accompanied by loud drums. The festival commemorates the time when Indra came down from heaven in human form to look for an herb. 

Each night of Indra Jatra the shrines and ancient palace buildings around Kathmandu Durbar Square are aglow with oil wicks. Each night on the platform in front of the temple of the Living Goddess, there is an enactment depicting the ten earthly incarnations of Lord Vishnu. 

In the afternoon of the day before full moon, ecstatic mobs gather near Hanuman Dhoka Palace for the long-awaited Living Goddess’ chariot procession to catch a glimpse of the revered little Newari girl who has been deified as Kumari. 

The chariot of the Kumari followed by two other smaller chariots carrying a representative of Ganesh and Bhairav is taken to different parts of the old Kathmandu. The festival of Indra Jatra ends with the lowering of the (lingam) pole bearing Indra's flag amidst religious ceremonies.

Venue: Hanuman Dhoka & Lanes of old Kathmandu

When: September

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors