Découvrez le NépalSite officiel du tourisme du Népal

Accueil Événements et festivals Haritalika Teej

Haritalika Teej
2 septembre 2019

Le festival de Teej, célébré par les femmes à travers tous le pays pendant trois jours, se tient au mois d’août. Vêtues de saris rouges, le front orné d’une tika (un mélange de poudre vermillon, de yaourt et de riz apposé sur le front) et les bras parés de bracelets, les femmes dansent et chantent des chansons traditionnelles pendant plusieurs jours. Ce festival revêt un sens particulier pour les femmes mariées, car elles sont alors invitées dans leur maison maternelle pour un repas exceptionnel.

À la suite d’un long festin appelé Dar, les femmes jeûnent pendant 24 heures. Certaines s’abstiennent même de boire de l’eau. Le spectacle de ces femmes de tous âges, qui dansent pendant des heures dans la chaleur, sous la pluie, sans boire une goutte d’eau ni manger, est fascinant.

Women in red sari standing in line to pray and make offerings of flowers, fruits, incense, at the nearest Shiva temple on the day of Teej.

Les milliers de femmes drapées de rouge et de vert qui se pressent au temple de Pashupatinath, animent le sanctuaire de mille feux. Elles y dansent dans la joie, et les touristes sont souvent invitées à se joindre à elles.

Ce festival est l’occasion pour les femmes de remercier Shiva de leur avoir accordée un mari bienveillant, et de prier pour la longévité et la prospérité de ce dernier.

Women dancing in a Shiva temple premises on the day of Teej.

Le dernier jour de Teej, les femmes offrent de la nourriture, de l'argent et diverses Pujas (offrandes) à sept saints. Elles se baignent dans de la boue rouge et se brossent les dents avec du Datiwan (branches d'un buisson), dans l'espoir de purifier leur corps et leur âme.

#NepalNow

Népal à travers les yeux de nos visiteurs

Nepal Tourism Board |   Visit our corporate website for trade and industry updates
Great Himalaya Trails
Atithi Dewo Bhawa
Experience Nepal - Cuisine and Culture
Visit Nepal 2020

HomeWhat's onHaritalika Teej

Haritalika Teej
3ʳᵈ September

Occurring around the month of August, Teej is a festival celebrated by women all over Nepal for three days. Decked up in red sarees and red tika, bangles, women sing and dance to traditional folk songs for days. It is specially significant for married women, when they get a special invitation to visit their maternal home and feast.

Following a long feast also known as Dar, the women, sit for a 24 hour long fasting , where most do not eat or even drink water. What is fascinating is to watch women of all age group, young and old, dance for hours in the heat , rain, without a drop of water or food for an entire day.

Women in red sari standing in line to pray and make offerings of flowers, fruits, incense, at the nearest Shiva temple on the day of Teej.

It is a sight to behold at the Pashupatinath temple, where thousands of women draped in Red and green throng the premises of the temple. Observers can take photos of these women dancing merrily , where sometimes foreigners, especially women tourists are requested to participate in the merry-making.

The significance of such a festival is for women to ask for special blessings by Lord Shiva, to have attain a good husband in life, and to pray for his longevity and prosperity.

Women dancing in a Shiva temple premises on the day of Teej.

On the final day of this three day festival Women satisfy seven saints offering them food, money and various offerings, and also bathing with Red mud and brushing their teeth with Datiwan (branches of a bush tree) hoping this purifies their body and soul.

Places to See During Haritalika Teej

Things to do

#NepalNow

Nepal through the eyes of our visitors